Day Two and Another Loss

First, let me say that I know it is only two games. Both, however were winnable and both wound up losses. The first, as I stated yesterday was lost in the first inning by an over analytical manager. The second was lost by sloppy play and poor pitching.

In the first two games, the Yankees have scored 12 runs and given up 15. You are not going to win too many games giving up an average of 7.5 runs per game. The two starters alone have given up 11 runs in 11.1 innings. From what I have seen of Hiroki Kuroda, both in the spring and in this first outing, I fully expect that he will be one of the guys pitching out of the bullpen before this season is over.

It will be a long season, and no need to panic after two games, but this team has not exactly come out of the gate firing on all cylinders. They have pitched poorly and played some shoddy defense to go along with some questionable managerial decisions.

Time to get their acts together this afternoon if they hope to salvage one of these three games in Tampa. Regardless, I fully expect them to get well in the three game series at Baltimore before returning home.

Leave a comment